26 de gener de 2018

CWA asks librarians to have a stab at Dagger nominations for 2018

[The Bookseller, 25 january 2018]

Natasha Onwuemezi

Librarians have been invited to vote for the winner of the 'Dagger in the Library' 2018.
The prize is for a body of work by a crime writer that users of libraries particularly admire. Previous winners include Elly Griffiths, Stuart MacBride, Jake Arnott, and Alexander McCall Smith. Last year the prize was won by Mari Hannah.
Library staff are asked to vote for living authors whose first book was published in 2008 or earlier and who have published 10 crime books or more – novels, true crime or non-fiction. The CWA hopes to see authors nominated who have given "most pleasure to readers over the years" – and a further criterion, to be evaluated by the judges, is for those authors who have helped support the cause of libraries over their careers.
Only library staff are able to nominate authors with up to three votes per library.  To vote, librarians need to visit the CWA website before the end of February.
The Dagger in the Library is intended to promote crime fiction in general and, in particular, the longlisted authors. The judges will select a longlist from the nominations, to be announced at CrimeFest in mid May, and the CWA will work with The Reading Agency, libraries and the Crime Readers’ Association to promote the longlisted authors and their books to readers across the country in the following months.
Meanwhile, crime readers are invited to enter their own competition: if they leave a review of one of 2017’s Dagger Award shortlisted titles before the end of February, they will be entered into a competition to win two tickets for CrimeFest 2018 – where the Dagger longlists for 2018 will be announced – and a copy of the latest anthology from both the CWA and CrimeFest. More information is available from the CWA website.

0 comentaris:

Publica un comentari a l'entrada

Google Analytics Alternative