6 de gener de 2016

Costa Book Awards 2015 announced: Kate Atkinson won under the Novel category for the second time

[PrepSure, 5 january 2016]

Amita Pandey

A God in Ruins written by Kate Atkinson won the Costa Book Awards 2015 under the category Costa Novel Award 2015

Winners of Costa Book Awards 2015 were announced on January 4, 2016. According to the announcement, writer Kate Atkinson’s novel A God in Ruins won the Costa Book Awards 2015 under the category Costa Novel Award 2015.
This is to note that Kate Atkinson won this award for the second time in last three years. Before this, she received the Costa Book Award 2013 for her novelLife After Life. Apart from this, winners under other four categories were also announced while the overall Book of the year will be announced at a ceremony that will take place in January 26, 2016 in London.
  • Costa First Novel Award 2015 – The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley
  • Costa Novel Award 2015 – A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
  • Costa Biography Award 2015 – The Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt, The Lost Hero of Science by Andrea Wulf
  • Costa Poetry Award 2015 – 40 Sonnets by Don Paterson
  • Costa Children’s Book Award 2015 – The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
Kate Atkinson
Kate Atkinson is an English writer. She is famous for her novels written under the genre of Crime fiction. Her first novel Behind the Scenes at the Museum won Whitbread Book of the Year (Costa Book of the Year) in 1995. Since then she has eight novels, one play and a collection of short stories to her credit. Atkinson also received the honour of Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in the 2011.
Costa Book Awards
The Costa Book Awards is United Kingdom’s most prestigious literary prizes given annually. It recognises the most enjoyable books of the year written by authors based in United Kingdom and Ireland.
Costa Book Awards include five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book which are revealed beforehand. Apart from this, one of the books among these five winners also receives Costa Book of the Year Award which is revealed later at a Costa Book Awards ceremony in the month of January every year.
Costa Book Awards was launched in 1971 as the Whitbread Literary Awards which became to be known as Whitbread Book Awards in 1985. While in 2006, it was named Costa Book Awards when Costa took over it.

0 comentaris:

Publica un comentari a l'entrada

Google Analytics Alternative